Henderson Chamber announces endorsements for Nov. 4 general elections

Government, Henderson, Nev.

HENDERSON, Nev. – The Henderson Chamber of Commerce’s Issues Mobilization Political Action Committee (IMPAC) has finalized its endorsements for Nevada’s general elections, which will take place Tuesday, Nov. 4.

“In this process, members of IMPAC interviewed 20 candidates for legislative- and education-related offices,” said Tim Brooks, IMPAC chair and chair elect for Henderson Chamber of Commerce board of directors.

Brooks added that the committee selected candidates who reflect a history and political agenda in support of small- to medium-sized businesses, which comprise most of the chamber’s membership.

“We’re sensitive to taxation structure, legislation that supports all businesses, diversification of the economy, and broadening and strengthening our education system,” Brooks said. “The most important issue was their position on Question No. 3: The Education Initiative (also known as the Margin Tax). Question 3 will have the greatest impact on our members, and the majority of our members oppose it because of the detrimental effect it would have on small businesses, should it pass.”

In addition to their position on Question 3, candidates were also asked to list what they thought were the leading issues in regards to health care, their position on raising or maintaining the state’s minimum wage and how they would improve educational funding.

For 2014’s upcoming general elections, the Henderson Chamber of Commerce has endorsed:

  • Governor: Brian Sandoval – R
  • Lieutenant Governor: Mark Hutchison – R
  • Secretary of State: Barbara Cegavske – R
  • Treasurer: Kim Wallin – D
  • Attorney General: No endorsement given for this race
  • Senate District 2: Moises Denis – D
  • Senate District 8: Patricia Lynn Farley – R
  • Senate District 9: Becky Harris – R
  • Senate District 12: Joseph P. Hardy – R
  • Senate District 20: Michael Craig Roberson – R
  • Assembly District 1: Marilyn Kaye Kirkpatrick – D
  • Assembly District 2: John Cameron Hambrick – R
  • Assembly District 4: Michele Fiore – R
  • Assembly District 5: Erven Tebbs Nelson – R
  • Assembly District 8: Jason Matthew Frierson – D
  • Assembly District 10: No endorsement given for this race
  • Assembly District 12: James Edward Ohrenschall – D
  • Assembly District 13: Dennis Paul Anderson – R
  • Assembly District 18: No endorsement given for this race
  • Assembly District 19: Christopher Edwards – R
  • Assembly District 20: Ellen Beth Barre Spiegel – D
  • Assembly District 21: Derek Wayne Armstrong – R
  • Assembly District 22: Lynn Stewart – R
  • Assembly District 23: Melissa Woodbury – R
  • Assembly District 29: Stephen Silberkraus – R
  • Assembly District 41: No endorsement given for this race
  • Commissioner District G: Mary Beth Scow – D
  • Henderson Constable: Earl Mitchell – R
  • Clark County Sheriff: Joe Lombardo
  • Regent District 2: Trevor Hayes
  • Regent District 3: Kevin Page
  • Regent District 5: Sam Lieberman

IMPAC serves as a comprehensive, non-partisan political action committee that contributes to the creation of a favorable business climate in Henderson as it relates to issues at the state and local level. IMPAC does not endorse candidates in judicial or federal races.

The Henderson Chamber of Commerce provides its more than 1,000 member businesses with marketing and networking opportunities, support resources and legislative representation. The chamber encourages job creation for Henderson and Nevada, opposes new taxes on employers that are not equally distributed and determined to be absolutely necessary, and supports an education system that produces a qualified workforce in a cost-efficient manner.

The Henderson Chamber of Commerce is a non-profit professional organization committed to promoting and supporting member businesses.

For more information, call 702-565-8951 or visit hendersonchamber.com.